Page 1 of 1

NL v6.5B6 bot spins "Locating group header range ..."

Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 4:48 pm
by RBob
NL v6.5B6
Windows 7 Pro SP1 64-bit

I have 9 connections defined, 8 set for group updates, 4 each for 2 providers and a 7Mb/s DSL connection.

Initial update limit: 30 days
Keep headers for: 7 days

I do an Update Groups->All: Get New Headers and after the process seems to complete, more often than not one or more of the connections spins, apparently forever, showing

Locating group header range up to 30.0 days of age (/)

with the (/) representing a spinner suggesting that it's still doing something.

Sorry to say that I don't remember if it's always the same group(s).

There's nothing in the log that shows anything about this.

Re: NL v6.5B6 bot spins "Locating group header range ..."

Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:30 pm
by thany
Same problem on 7.0 beta 10.

Spinner is just sitting there. I haven't thouroghly checked if it's actually doing anything, but it doesn't appear so.

What does it mean? What is it actually doing when this spinner is showing?

Re: NL v6.5B6 bot spins "Locating group header range ..."

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 8:21 am
by 1953krall
Did you guys ever get any support for this problem mine is doing the same things on every and any group never downloads a single header

oh where has the support gone?

Re: NL v6.5B6 bot spins "Locating group header range ..."

Posted: Thu May 04, 2017 7:58 am
by scuba
1953krall wrote:
Wed May 03, 2017 8:21 am
Did you guys ever get any support for this problem mine is doing the same things on every and any group never downloads a single header

oh where has the support gone?
the support is same place - as it has always been. here:

https://www.newsleecher.com/support/

Re: NL v6.5B6 bot spins "Locating group header range ..."

Posted: Thu May 04, 2017 8:19 am
by 1953krall
Scuba I hated to sound so negitive sir...do you have any ideas on my issue ?

Re: NL v6.5B6 bot spins "Locating group header range ..."

Posted: Thu May 04, 2017 9:55 am
by scuba
don't worry - but be positive. Otherwise you can always contact us using the form to get a quick answer....

but did you try to disable your antivirus/local security center and try? It may block..we have seen this in some support cases...

Re: NL v6.5B6 bot spins "Locating group header range ..."

Posted: Thu May 04, 2017 11:25 am
by 1953krall
yes the was the very first thing I tried even uninstalled and cleaned the registry

Re: NL v6.5B6 bot spins "Locating group header range ..."

Posted: Thu May 04, 2017 1:41 pm
by scuba
1953krall wrote:
Thu May 04, 2017 11:25 am
yes the was the very first thing I tried even uninstalled and cleaned the registry
please create a support ticket.

Re: NL v6.5B6 bot spins "Locating group header range ..."

Posted: Thu May 04, 2017 1:56 pm
by 1953krall
scuba, I FOUND the issue you pointed me in the right direction my VPN was hosed up, once I cleared the error everything works great!

thanks for the great support

Re: NL v6.5B6 bot spins "Locating group header range ..."

Posted: Fri May 05, 2017 10:27 am
by scuba
1953krall wrote:
Thu May 04, 2017 1:56 pm
scuba, I FOUND the issue you pointed me in the right direction my VPN was hosed up, once I cleared the error everything works great!

thanks for the great support
Great to hear you have fixed it :D