NewsLeecher 5.0 beta 8 issues

Forum to report beta release bugs and discuss the latest beta releases with other users.
• If reporting a beta release bug, be sure read the bug reporting guidelines first.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT : Be sure to read the NewsLeecher forums policy before posting.
fand0r1982
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 5:13 pm

Post by fand0r1982 »

Running a command line when the queue is empty doesn't work. It just does nothing after finishing up the queue.

retownes
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:19 am

Post by retownes »

Where did my notes go???!!!

jdgdcg
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:08 pm

Post by jdgdcg »

Perhaps next time you want to change the GUI... ask first. There's a lot of things more important.
Like... simple one, CHANGE THE SCREENSHOTS OF THE WEB. They're from version 1.0;
And BTW i want to close the supersearch tab.
i want an option to close it!
I don't want the supersearch tab on my tabs.
Clear?

retownes
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:19 am

Post by retownes »

I just went back to BETA 7....

sfuller
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 4:56 am

No menu--no alt- F9

Post by sfuller »

Menu seems to be totally missing. Alt-F9 (Browser lookup) doesn't work. Forced to move back.

retownes
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:19 am

Re: No menu--no alt- F9

Post by retownes »

sfuller wrote:Menu seems to be totally missing. Alt-F9 (Browser lookup) doesn't work. Forced to move back.
I've been down this road before when he removed the feature by simply clicking on the icon to access your notes. It's an extremely useful feature when trying to keep up with frequent downloads, and should be fully incorporated back into NewsLeecher by way of a quick launch icon.

sfuller
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 4:56 am

Installing older version on top of new

Post by sfuller »

I think I've seen this issue before, but can't find it in the forums. I'm trying to go back to beta 7. It installs, but beta 8 is still launched.

retownes
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:19 am

Re: Installing older version on top of new

Post by retownes »

sfuller wrote:I think I've seen this issue before, but can't find it in the forums. I'm trying to go back to beta 7. It installs, but beta 8 is still launched.
I had to uninstall it, then re-install beta 7.

Dibbler
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 7:55 pm

Post by Dibbler »

Thankfully after removing it the settings etc were retained and picked up by beta 7.

Never thought that I would be so glad to get back to an older version :)

retownes
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:19 am

Post by retownes »

Dibbler wrote:Thankfully after removing it the settings etc were retained and picked up by beta 7.

Never thought that I would be so glad to get back to an older version :)
I hear ya', brotha'!

Arsby
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:51 am

Post by Arsby »

I've only worked with it for an hour, I can get used to the interface change, but I've got some minor gripes.

1) The filter box in supersearch is much too small.

2) I seem to recall that when I right-clicked on an article and click leech, it would start leeching. Now I *must* select the type of leech (which is usually plain leech). There's an extra click each time, dozens of times a day.

3) I turned off the Christmas thing, pointless waste of cycles. Next time, tell people how to turn it on, don't turn it on by default.

(With everyone complaining about the absence of "notes", I'm beginning to miss something that I never used.)

User avatar
the doctor
Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:40 am
Location: DeLand, Florida USA
Contact:

Supersearch Repeatable exception error

Post by the doctor »

V5b8 and previous

Windows 7 64bit / AMD Phenom II X6 1090T / 12Gb

This error occurs when a supersearch is done that lists new results.
This is a repeatable error.

In Supersearch, search for anything that lists new results and then click on one of the results. An exception error message immediately appears.

This error has been occurring for quite some time in many betas.

This is a repeatable error which is not been corrected.

After the error occurs multiple times it stops occurring until restarting NL

Bug Data1:
BGEXP_1234

Bug Data2:
Access violation at address 0058D1F9 in module 'newsLeecher.exe'. Read of address 0000000D
Last edited by the doctor on Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:19 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
the doctor
Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:40 am
Location: DeLand, Florida USA
Contact:

Post by the doctor »

Arsby wrote: 3) I turned off the Christmas thing, pointless waste of cycles. Next time, tell people how to turn it on, don't turn it on by default.

(With everyone complaining about the absence of "notes", I'm beginning to miss something that I never used.)
This function is fully documented in the release notes.

Arsby
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:51 am

Re: Supersearch Repeatable exception error

Post by Arsby »

the doctor wrote:V5b8 and previous

Windows 7 64bit / AMD Phenom II X6 1090T / 12Gb

.....

After the error occurs multiple times it stops occurring until restarting NL

Bug Data1:
BGEXP_1234

Bug Data2:
Access violation at address 0058D1F9 in module 'newsLeecher.exe'. Read of address 0000000D
What you're describing might be a Win 7 and/or 64 bit problem.
I have a puny little Vista 32 bit 3GB AMD Turion system, and NL has been remarkably stable for me given what I put it through.
I often have NL open for days at a time, doing many searches and downloads, and though I've seen what you're talking about it's been very rare for me.

User avatar
Spiril
Site Admin
Posts: 4278
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 3:11 am

Post by Spiril »

Long post ahead, with a new unofficial test release at the bottom.

Tbird wrote:And a dynamic xmas theme? That's not funny! :cry:

Please Spiral, focus on what you can do best!
I think a quite a few users will like it. If I'm wrong, I'll remove it again.

For now, you can just turn it off if it makes you sad face.
Dibbler wrote:no clean up button for SS
What do you use the cleanup button for in SS ? - Usually one simply closes the SS result view if it's not needed, or "overwrites" it with a new search.
Dibbler wrote:Where has the shortcut key gone for "The Notes"
Check out the new "Quick Links" feature in the new unofficial forum release.
the doctor wrote:Articles tab:

Search entry box is even smaller!!!

Could we please have this user adjustable. I have a huge amount of blank area on the right side of the Cleanup icon.

I would like to have a larger (NOT SMALLER) Search Box.
Check out the new unofficial forum release.
Richie wrote:Heh, I LOVE the xmas theme! Nice wee surprise. As for the rest, it works for me.
Thanks :) ... It keeps up my NewsLeecher work motivation, to code stuff like that, when I'm not in the mood for bug fixing, etc..
pippinpixie wrote:Something not quite right with the leech tweeks and Auto cleaning and not accounting for the S00, S01 etc..
Can you PM me with a SS query for such a set ?
Eincrou wrote:I have a bug to report with Supersearch and the "Save to groupname subfolder" option.

When leeching from Supersearch, if the articles are found in multiple newsgroups, they are saved to a folder named for all the groups.

Example: "alt.binaries.boneless, alt.binaries.misc, alt.binaries.nl"

The previous behavior was to name the folder based on just the first newsgroup.
Check the new unofficial forum release.
drac wrote:F9 no longer works to minimize to tray.
F8 and F9 works again in the new release.
poohbeer wrote:And still missing the option to set that extract to subfolder setting seperate for RnE matches vs non-matches as explained in the beta7 topic:
viewtopic.php?p=106249#106249

Please implement this.
Got it on the to do list. It'll be available either in 5.0 or a 5.x release.
WhiteThunder wrote:Running a command line when the queue is empty doesn't work. It just does nothing after finishing up the queue.
Fixed in the unofficial forum release.
jdgdcg wrote:And BTW i want to close the supersearch tab.
i want an option to close it!
I don't want the supersearch tab on my tabs.
Clear?
"I want" ..." Clear?" ... too cute. I got SS tab close on the todo though.
sfuller wrote:Menu seems to be totally missing. Alt-F9 (Browser lookup) doesn't work. Forced to move back.
Check Quick Links in the unofficial forum release.
the doctor wrote:This error occurs when a supersearch is done that lists new results.
This is a repeatable error.
Gotta get to that soon. I'll try to get it fixed for the next beta.






----
Here's the unofficial forum release (#1) :

http://www.newsleecher.com/nl50009ufc1.exe

<pre>+: The width of the main filter boxes in NewsLeecher are now
automatically adjusted, depending on the space available on the
NewsLeecher toolbars.
The max width of the boxes can be changed here:
Settings -> Adv. Nerdy Tweaks -> Search Filter Max Pixel Width
+: Implemented a Quick Link feature, that can be used to quickly
execute a program or open a URL, by clicking a shortcut.
The links can be accessed and edited from:
Tools -> Quick Links
The links can also be accessed by keyboard shortcuts, Ctrl+1,
Ctrl+2 and Ctrl+3.
*: Vastly reduced the CPU cycles used by NewsLeecher, when lots
of articles were present in the Download Queue.
*: Fixed and enhanced the "Download to Groupname Subfolder"
feature, so only one groupname is used when creating the
subfolder, in case the article comes from multiple groups.
NewsLeecher now matches the article groupnames against the list
of local group subscriptions, to find the best suited name for
the subfolder.</pre>

Also F8 & F9 shortcuts are working again, "Run Command Line on Empty Queue" works again and a few performance enhancements were made to the xmas theme.
bug fixed. no idea how. hate it when that happens. trying to break it again now. will. not. be. defeated.

Post Reply