Links on News Page Don't use Default Web Browser.

Found a bug in NewsLeecher? Post a bug report here. Please describe how to reproduce the bug.
• Be sure to read the bug reporting guidelines before posting.
Post Reply
Givver
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 9:35 pm

Links on News Page Don't use Default Web Browser.

Post by Givver » Sat May 22, 2004 6:33 am

Version: B19
Operating System w/ Service Pack Version: Win XP, SP1
Installation Method: Upgrade
Type of Installation: Beta
Number of Servers: 1
List your provider(s)? ISP (Giganews)
Connections per server: 4
Server priority: 1

Bug Description:
On the News page inside Newsleecher. When you click on any of the links it will use Internet Explorer to open them instead of your default web browser. I use Opera v7.5 and it set as my default. Links in other programs use it but Newsleecher will always use Internet Explorer.

Elmer J Fudd
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:38 am

Re: Links on News Page Don't use Default Web Browser.

Post by Elmer J Fudd » Sat May 22, 2004 11:00 pm

Givver wrote:Version: B19
Operating System w/ Service Pack Version: Win XP, SP1
Installation Method: Upgrade
Type of Installation: Beta
Number of Servers: 1
List your provider(s)? ISP (Giganews)
Connections per server: 4
Server priority: 1

Bug Description:
On the News page inside Newsleecher. When you click on any of the links it will use Internet Explorer to open them instead of your default web browser. I use Opera v7.5 and it set as my default. Links in other programs use it but Newsleecher will always use Internet Explorer.
Noticed the same thing.. (on B20) fires up IE not Firefox which is my default browser.

HOWEVER the FAQ and User Forum Buttons do use the default browser

User avatar
Taomyn
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 9:32 am

Post by Taomyn » Wed May 26, 2004 2:43 pm

I "3rd" this annoying issue!

User avatar
Spiril
Site Admin
Posts: 4278
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 3:11 am

Post by Spiril » Wed May 26, 2004 3:15 pm

Hmm.. This is actually not as easy to fix as one should think, but I think I got an idea that might help me solve the problem. I'll take a look at it later today.

daphatty
Forum Moderator
Posts: 595
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 4:38 am
Location: USA

Post by daphatty » Wed May 26, 2004 4:32 pm

[Bill Gates Impression]
Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated. :P
[/Bill Gates Impression]

Just joking guys.

User avatar
Spiril
Site Admin
Posts: 4278
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 3:11 am

Post by Spiril » Wed May 26, 2004 4:59 pm

daphatty wrote:[Bill Gates Impression]
Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated. :P
[/Bill Gates Impression]

Just joking guys.
*lol* yea, I wonder if it's a *coincidence* it's hard to code his Internet Explorer component to open URLs in other browsers than his own. well guess not :)


Anyways, I found a work-around! :D Beta 22 will open links in whatever your default browser is.

User avatar
Core_F
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2003 6:51 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Core_F » Wed May 26, 2004 5:32 pm

It's not a bug... it's a feature! :)
··· Logic Is The Faith Of The Future ···

daphatty
Forum Moderator
Posts: 595
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 4:38 am
Location: USA

Post by daphatty » Wed May 26, 2004 5:32 pm

One thing I found a little strange in B21, when I clicked on the upgrade link in the News menu, instead of opening a new window, it opened a browser INSIDE the News menu. I then initiated the download from there. I happened to close NL (out of reflex) and it killed the DL process too. I'll be able to test this again when I get home.

Strange...

Post Reply