Page 1 of 1

startup takes long

Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 2:02 pm
by ..::Frans::..
13:58:18 Launching NewsLeecher v5.0 Beta 18.2.
13:58:18 Copyright© NewsLeecher.com 2013. All Rights Reserved.
13:58:18 File & Folder Locations ...
13:58:18 * NewsLeecher App Folder: C:\Program Files (x86)\NewsLeecher\
13:58:18 * Settings File Location: C:\Users\Frans2\AppData\Roaming\NewsLeecher\setup.v2.dat
13:58:18 * Data Folder Location : C:\Users\Frans2\AppData\Roaming\NewsLeecher\
13:58:18 * Temp Folder Location : C:\Users\Frans2\AppData\Roaming\NewsLeecher\Temp\
13:58:18 File logging is: Disabled.
13:58:18 Loaded and initialized PAR2 checking and repairing functionality (dll v1)...
13:58:18 Loading Repair & Extract Queue...
13:58:18 Loading Download Queue ...
13:58:18 * Group Entries Active : 0 ( total cache loadtime was 0ms )
13:59:25 Loaded ID-list for downloaded files in 66372ms. :: 0 of 1.419.923 IDs deleted from list because they were older than 90 days.
13:59:25 SuperSearch has successfully initialized ...
13:59:25 * SuperSearch Conn. Info: Gen.IP="199.187.121.118" :: Ero.IP="199.187.121.118" :: Ports="443", "443" :: Retention="1700".
13:59:27 Auto clicking the "Connect" button. This feature can be turned off from the settings dialog.
As can be seen above, starting up takes extremely long (67 secs) from double clicking to dissapearing from the about dialog... This one was introduced after i had to renew my membership (was a yearly membership and i went to the "plus" package".

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 5:58 pm
by ..::Frans::..
I am the only one??

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 9:01 pm
by Bags
Yep! :)


Look at queue .. maybe empty it, restart and re-add. Use exported nzb/import if you can.
Switch off all logs you can.
Switch off auto-connects and disable any timed downloads

Anything ?

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 9:05 pm
by ..::Frans::..
Thnx Bags, been there, donme that, re-install, switched off everything, switched on everything, cleared all again an again and again....

Just tried again...1:30 mins just to get rid of the startup window... It seems to me that it takes about forever to get me validated through the new package-settings i "bought" (sorry, don't know exactly how to explain the last word...not native english ;-))

The problem also started after switching from the one-year license to the new licensing system....

But thanx, any help is appreciated!

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 9:20 pm
by Bags
Hi. No problem.

Start-up window? Splash Screen? Try turning that OFF too (in Settings/Adv)
... launch .. show splash screen = false

What Windows are you running (OS?)?
Does the log say anything (if it's still recording everything)?
Can you see the Info Screen and refresh it (Left side of Log/News screen)?
How big is queue? In Gb Approx?

Back later.

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 9:33 pm
by ..::Frans::..
Ok, bags, in short:

Haven't tried turning the splash off before (good point though)

Third try:
21:29:00 Launching NewsLeecher v5.0 Beta 18.2.
21:29:00 Copyright© NewsLeecher.com 2013. All Rights Reserved.
21:29:00 File & Folder Locations ...
21:29:00 * NewsLeecher App Folder: C:\Program Files (x86)\NewsLeecher\
21:29:00 * Settings File Location: C:\Users\Frans2\AppData\Roaming\NewsLeecher\setup.v2.dat
21:29:00 * Data Folder Location : C:\Users\Frans2\AppData\Roaming\NewsLeecher\
21:29:00 * Temp Folder Location : C:\Users\Frans2\AppData\Roaming\NewsLeecher\Temp\
21:29:00 File logging is: Disabled.
21:29:00 Loaded and initialized PAR2 checking and repairing functionality (dll v1)...
21:29:00 Loading Repair & Extract Queue...
21:29:00 Loading Download Queue ...
21:29:00 * Group Entries Active : 0 ( total cache loadtime was 0ms )
21:29:31 Loaded ID-list for downloaded files in 30610ms. :: 0 of 1.585.850 IDs deleted from list because they were older than 90 days.
21:29:31 SuperSearch has successfully initialized ...
21:29:31 * SuperSearch Conn. Info: Gen.IP="199.187.121.118" :: Ero.IP="199.187.121.118" :: Ports="443", "443" :: Retention="1700".
21:29:33 Auto clicking the "Connect" button. This feature can be turned off from the settings dialog.
As you can see, logging keeps working, it takes 1 min less to start up but i get a message in the window header bar (nmext to the title) saying (freely translated): "Not responding" until the 33 secs have passed.

Running NL on win7, latest updates all included and nothing special installed (using ps for work too)

FYI: Queue is completewly empty.

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 9:40 pm
by Bags
... and you tried an absolutely clean install? So you made sure NO old directory/files/folders were in the default install locations? ie AppData, etc, etc?

Then re-registered with password.

No moved/changed .ini folder locations? (to run from different drive, etc)?

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 9:43 pm
by ..::Frans::..
Nope (and yes, i know my way around a pc...at least, my boss is paying me to do it for about 40 hrs a week... ;-))