Page 1 of 1

Re-setup again and again .... 5.19 and previous

Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:17 am
by dagon
every 2-3 days i have to re-setup NL someting it's the group that is blank when starting NL an other time it's the server. not counting the lot of bug report when donwloading (i have to delete the download in queu that cause de bug and stat from scratch)

Any one else having this kind of error?

NL is the only software with good interface and feature that why i keep trying but never got answer to my bug repport in the forum

windows 7 64 family premium

Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:41 pm
by Bags
No ... I am not so sure we 'all' ARE having the problem you describe.

I suggest you do a FRESH install and re-load groups.
Who is your UseNet service provider?

Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:19 pm
by dagon
I don't know how much time i have re-installed different version (from scratch cleaning the registry to be shure) and re-setuping NL. The error i got from the bug repport match what was posted in the last 2 year here in the forum by other.

the error i got is

Bug Data1:
wqewq:: 0 :: 0 :: 1

Bug Data2:
Argument out of range

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:19 am
by Smudge
Perhaps one of your configuration files is corrupted. Uninstalling and reinstalling will not remove the configuration files. There is no configuration data stored in the registry.

If you are using 4.0 or later, you can hold down F12 when starting the application and it will ask if you wish to load your configuration files. Start with not loading the General Settings File by answering No and it will launch NewsLeecher with the default settings. Immediately quit NewsLeecher to save the default settings to disk. Then launch NewsLeecher again and it should start up with default settings and hopefully no error messages. If you get more errors, try the same procedure for the other setting files.

If using an earlier version, you will need to manually remove the setup.dat file. You can find the location and explanation of each configuration file at viewtopic.php?t=6766

If that doesn't resolve the problem, try moving all of the .dat files out of the configuration data directory and run NewsLeecher again. If there error goes away then it was one of those files. You could move a few of the files back in until you find the corrupt file.

Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 6:36 pm
by dagon
If a file is corrupt it should always cause problem. My problem is random few days without problem and bang. I delete the cue causing problem it's working for few days and one days server and/or group are empty.

Now i removed every thing cleanup registry and deleted all file in C:\Users\[current user]\Application Data\Roaming\NewsLeecher and instaled an old 5.0 beta 3 that i found so far all is good i will wait a few days if it's ok a will make a full backup of C:\Users\[current user]\Application Data\Roaming\NewsLeecher and install the latest beta and see

Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:09 pm
by comicbookman
Smudge wrote:Perhaps one of your configuration files is corrupted. Uninstalling and reinstalling will not remove the configuration files. There is no configuration data stored in the registry.

If you are using 4.0 or later, you can hold down F12 when starting the application and it will ask if you wish to load your configuration files. Start with not loading the General Settings File by answering No and it will launch NewsLeecher with the default settings. Immediately quit NewsLeecher to save the default settings to disk. Then launch NewsLeecher again and it should start up with default settings and hopefully no error messages. If you get more errors, try the same procedure for the other setting files.

If using an earlier version, you will need to manually remove the setup.dat file. You can find the location and explanation of each configuration file at viewtopic.php?t=6766

If that doesn't resolve the problem, try moving all of the .dat files out of the configuration data directory and run NewsLeecher again. If there error goes away then it was one of those files. You could move a few of the files back in until you find the corrupt file.


as I have posted before. sorry but this method does not fix . please I know your trying to help but sending everyone to the same faq page does not solve our problems. i have erased all .dat files and still nothing. I have tried the f12 method. nothing. please help us.

Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 2:41 am
by dagon
Again after deleting everything and installing from scratch the old v5 beta 3. but with this version the problem took 5-6 days before appening (i have lost the seting for the server this time) normaly it happend every 1-2 days