Certain Groups in Cache not being identified on startup

Post your questions here if you need help to use NewsLeecher or if you have a question about a feature.

Post Reply
ZaruenMakai
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 8:50 am

Certain Groups in Cache not being identified on startup

Post by ZaruenMakai »

I have downloaded the group cache information for the following 3 groups..

alt.binaries.multimedia
alt.binaries.tv
alt.binaries.warez

I know fors ure the cache doesnt get deleted, but upon starting up or clicking on article count. they come up with as if i have never updated them once and begin downloading every header again..... can someone help me fix this problem?

User avatar
Smudge
Site Admin
Posts: 10034
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:42 am

Post by Smudge »

sounds like the cache files are corrupted so NewsLeecher is having problems saving the headers to the files.

first try purging the groups. in the Manager page, right click the group and select Purge Group Headers. Then download the headers and quit NewsLeecher. This will save the headers to the cache file.

If that doesn't work, try manually deleting the cache files. You can find the location and explanation of each configuration file at viewtopic.php?t=6766
Please be aware of and use the following pages...
Services Status Page : SuperSearch and Usenet Access server status, retention, server load, indexing time, etc.
Support Request Form : Use this if you have a problem with billing or account status. The forum is only for NewsLeecher application issues.

ZaruenMakai
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 8:50 am

Post by ZaruenMakai »

okay well every time i try to update the groups headers... of those 3 groups that i know of... they get corrupt every single time and force me to update to no end... so what do i do?

ZaruenMakai
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 8:50 am

actually

Post by ZaruenMakai »

okay now it allows me to access the groups downloaded, but when i do an article count it still says i need to update the whole list even though it is updated.. so im scared to click on update again cuz i dont want to have to download every header again every time i wanna update for just the latest headers.

Post Reply