BETA 27 Hangs!

Post your questions here if you need help to use NewsLeecher or if you have a question about a feature.

Dixon Butz
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 1:12 am

BETA 27 Hangs!

Post by Dixon Butz »

Just upgradedd to b27 over b26 on xp. When updating any group, NL hangs. Can't close it. Have to right click on the tasbar and select clost. Then get the message program is not responding. Have to use the end now button.

elite
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 10:26 pm

Post by elite »

same here - it is hanging everytime i update the group

I have gone back to b26 but it has stuffed up the size of my download queue - artilves that were 800kb are now showing up as 800MB - but it looks liek downloading ok - (so far)
Last edited by elite on Fri Jul 16, 2004 1:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

pka4916
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 1:03 am
Location: WI, USA
Contact:

Post by pka4916 »

Can't update either... everything hangs in B27

Please fix ASAP

jenjay
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:54 am

Post by jenjay »

pka4916 wrote:Can't update either... everything hangs in B27

Please fix ASAP
Me too - just my first group a.b.cbts gives a stupid message ...

Error:
Unable to get new header for active group

Solution:
Select an active group first, and then try again.

Anyone else had this one?

:(

chianti
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 12:24 am

Post by chianti »

Bigtime!

First I installed b27 on top of b26. So I didn't uninstalled b26 first. When b27 was finally running, groups didn't match anymore. For example, I checked a.b.nl, did a search, but the preview panel in the bottombar showed me I was searching in a.b.boneless :? This also counts for lots of other groups.

After that, I managed a clean install from scratch. First uninstalled b26, removed all remaining (cache) data manually, just to be sure b27 won't gag. I then reinstalled b27. While fetching new groups and subscribing to my groups, the listview on the left didn't list them at all. While trying to update some groups, I got the same warning message listed here above.

While trying to update group(s), b27 hangs bigtime! an I had to remove 'em from memory by hand.

b27 still doesn't list most of my groups and a.b.nl is just one of them.

Please, give me back my b26: this one never crashed one time!

Fedorov
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 12:23 pm

Post by Fedorov »

From what I've read on here so far I'm sticking with 26 till Spiril releases 27b or 28 :)

Fedorov.

chianti
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 12:24 am

Post by chianti »

I allready installed good ole b26 back...

Dawn Loader
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 5:17 am
Location: California

Beta 27 hangs for me as well

Post by Dawn Loader »

Hanging when trying to update/reset group with 50% CPU usage and 16MB RAM used. OS = Windows XP SP 2 Beta, CPU = Intel 2.8C, RAM = 512 MB.

<NULL>
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 5:02 am

hangs for me too when updating group.

Post by <NULL> »

hangs here too

jimrene
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:44 pm

Post by jimrene »

Here too, Locks solid

User avatar
Bob Morane
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 10:47 am
Location: PARIS (FRANCE)

Post by Bob Morane »

Hello,

my b27 hang up with 100 % cpu with a strange message when i update my first group

i'll back to b26

jenjay
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:54 am

Post by jenjay »

chianti wrote:I allready installed good ole b26 back...
+

How do I do that please? Will I lose all the settings I have if I do it <sigh>

chianti
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 12:24 am

Post by chianti »

you can just uninstall b27 without loosing any data, except the program files itself. Just install b26 back where it belongs..

User avatar
D-FENS
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 10:46 am
Contact:

Post by D-FENS »

Hmm... B27 seems to be working ok for me.

unicornz
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 6:50 pm

Post by unicornz »

Yep hangs with me as well, No option but to kill the task :(

Moved back to 26
Register NL user

Post Reply