Newsleecher not working

Post your questions here if you need help to use NewsLeecher or if you have a question about a feature.

User avatar
lzvk25
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 10:08 am

Newsleecher not working

Post by lzvk25 » Sat Aug 01, 2015 5:22 am

I have been using Newsleecher 4 for years and for the last 3 days I haven't been able to use Newsleecher at all.
I can't get headers much less download things. I only get messages in the log like :

23:02:03 Bot(8) disconnected from server: "unlimited.newshosting.com". (10053)

And it goes forever like it had fell into a loop.

Here is a sample of the log :

Code: Select all

23:01:33 Launching NewsLeecher v4.0 Final.
23:01:33 Copyright© NewsLeecher.com 2010. All Rights Reserved.
23:01:33 File & Folder Locations ...
23:01:33  * NewsLeecher App Folder: C:\Program Files (x86)\NewsLeecher\
23:01:33  * Settings File Location: C:\Users\Skuld\AppData\Roaming\NewsLeecher\setup.v2.dat
23:01:33  * Data Folder Location  : C:\Users\Skuld\AppData\Roaming\NewsLeecher\
23:01:33  * Temp Folder Location  : C:\Users\Skuld\AppData\Roaming\NewsLeecher\Temp\
23:01:33 File logging is: Disabled.
23:01:34 Loaded and initialized PAR2 checking and repairing functionality (dll v1)...
23:01:34 Loading Repair & Extract Queue...
23:01:34 Loading Download Queue ...
23:01:34  * Group Entries Active   :          0   ( total cache loadtime was 0ms )
23:01:34 Loading SuperSearch Results ...
23:01:34  * Group Entries Active   :          0   ( total cache loadtime was 0ms )
23:01:34 Loaded ID-list for downloaded files in 8ms.  ::  0 of 18,333 IDs deleted from list because they were older than 90 days.
23:01:35 SuperSearch has successfully initialized ...
23:01:35  * SuperSearch Conn. Info: Gen.IP="195.154.40.21" :: Ero.IP="195.154.40.21" :: Ports="443", "443" :: Retention="2600".
23:02:03 Bot(8) disconnected from server: "unlimited.newshosting.com".  (10053)
23:02:03 Bot(3) disconnected from server: "unlimited.newshosting.com".  (10053)
23:02:03 Bot(1) disconnected from server: "unlimited.newshosting.com".  (10053)
23:02:03 Bot(2) disconnected from server: "unlimited.newshosting.com".  (10053)
23:02:03 Bot(11) disconnected from server: "unlimited.newshosting.com".  (10053)
23:02:03 Bot(7) disconnected from server: "unlimited.newshosting.com".  (10053)
23:02:03 Bot(9) disconnected from server: "unlimited.newshosting.com".  (10053)
23:02:03 Bot(10) disconnected from server: "unlimited.newshosting.com".  (10053)
23:02:03 Bot(12) disconnected from server: "unlimited.newshosting.com".  (10053)
23:02:03 Bot(5) disconnected from server: "unlimited.newshosting.com".  (10053)
23:02:03 Bot(6) disconnected from server: "unlimited.newshosting.com".  (10053)
I know I can connect since, reluctantly, I had been forced to use a news reader from the competition and that one works with no problems.

Does anybody knows what could be going on ?

dodgerboy1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 7:51 am

Re: Newsleecher not working

Post by dodgerboy1 » Sat Aug 01, 2015 7:55 am

I am having the same issue. Whew!!!! i thought maybe I was the only one with this issue. My account is good till Aug 24 2015 so maybe it needs to be reactivated again. If not, I'm glad I'm not the only one having issues. Please let us know when this will be fixed. Thank you. by the way, the Supersearch still works so this problem is weird.

MarcelD
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:20 am

Re: Newsleecher not working

Post by MarcelD » Sun Aug 02, 2015 5:45 am

The same is happening to me. The connections list just says "(Transfers scanned)" with a yellow triangle, cycling back to Offline about once a second.
Also prior to this, it had been behaving strangely. For the last few weeks or so, articles would start downloading very slowly, only one connection linking up at a time, 1, 2, 3, 4... connections, eventually building up to full speed.

User avatar
lzvk25
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 10:08 am

Re: Newsleecher not working

Post by lzvk25 » Sun Aug 02, 2015 8:05 am

MarcelD wrote:The same is happening to me. The connections list just says "(Transfers scanned)" with a yellow triangle, cycling back to Offline about once a second.
Also prior to this, it had been behaving strangely. For the last few weeks or so, articles would start downloading very slowly, only one connection linking up at a time, 1, 2, 3, 4... connections, eventually building up to full speed.
Thank you that you mention the download speed. Before this happened, the download speeds were horrible, I thought it was because of either my ISP or my VPN, but in the last, now 4 days, I noticed that with the news reader from the competition, I get full download speed immediately. So, are you messing with us ? [-X

Granted, years ago, Newsleecher was the only decent news reader, and we had no choice but to suffer your bad service for a long time, however, time has passed and the competition has caught up. So don't be arrogant with us this time, because with the help of real indexers that do not fail, which BTW are free, we can look elsewhere in no time.
:x

MarcelD
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:20 am

Re: Newsleecher not working

Post by MarcelD » Tue Aug 04, 2015 12:40 am

Okay, I turned off SSL, and now the articles are downloading full speed.

Looks like they're having a problem with SSL.

MarcelD

thejim
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 3:03 pm

Re: Newsleecher not working

Post by thejim » Tue Aug 04, 2015 3:11 pm

Anybody else with this issue?

I am getting the same problem.

It is only Newsleecher and only the US secure servers from Easynews.

I can login with Forte Agent and Grabit but not NL and only the US servers. If I change to ESN's EU servers then it works fine.

This just started yesterday.

7:00:22 AM Disconnect Button Pressed. Disconnecting from Usenet Server(s).
7:00:34 AM Loading Group for Browsing: "easynews.support".
7:00:34 AM * Group Entries Active : 62,667 ( total cache loadtime was 66ms )
7:00:34 AM * Group Entries Deleted : 0 ( manually deleted from group cache )
7:00:34 AM * Group Entries Garbage : 0.00% ( group cache cleaning will be activated at 50% )
7:00:34 AM * Group Entries Outdated : 2 ( articles older than the set group retention, which is 2500 days )
7:00:34 AM Browsing Group: "easynews.support".
7:00:40 AM Added 1 article to the NewsLeecher transfer queue in 0ms, followed by a queue flush, which was executed in 0ms.
7:00:47 AM Bot(1) disconnected from server: "secure-us.news.easynews.com". (10053)
7:00:47 AM Bot(3) disconnected from server: "secure-us.news.easynews.com". (10053)
7:00:47 AM Bot(5) disconnected from server: "secure-us.news.easynews.com". (10053)
7:00:47 AM Bot(9) disconnected from server: "secure-us.news.easynews.com". (10053)
7:00:47 AM Bot(2) disconnected from server: "secure-us.news.easynews.com". (10053)


and EU server

7:09:51 AM Receiving headers from secure-eu.news.easynews.com. Range 200,001 to 295,409. Local Cache Pointer is at: 200,001.
7:09:51 AM * No cached entries present. Receiving all headers.

daleidat
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:03 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Re: Newsleecher not working

Post by daleidat » Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:00 pm

I have been using Newsleecher 4 for years and for the last 3 days I haven't been able to use Newsleecher at all.
I can't get headers much less download things. I only get messages in the log like :

23:02:03 Bot(8) disconnected from server: "unlimited.newshosting.com". (10053)

And it goes forever like it had fell into a loop.


Going into the past, I had numerous Anti Virus utilities running, and I used to have similar symptoms. In the end, I ended up ditching the AV applications, and changed my Anti Virus provider to Kaspersky . Since then, I have not had any problems. Perhaps it was coincidence, but since then everything has been fine, and that was nearly 4 years ago.

So who knows??.

User avatar
lzvk25
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 10:08 am

Re: Newsleecher not working

Post by lzvk25 » Wed Aug 05, 2015 1:58 am

NOTE : This is unrelated to the original thread, but nevertheless, is applicable.

About 1 or 2 months ago, for some dumb reason which I regret now, I "migrated" from Kaspersky Pure to Kaspersky Total Security and it seems that it was written by a paranoid fool and you can imagine that my Newsleecher ceased to work, and I checked all the settings of the new Kaspersky Total Security 15.0.2.361 and found among the new nasty idiocies, that it is blocking encrypted connections it doesn't like.

So for a change, you need to mess with the settings :

Settings -> Additional -> Network

Under the title "Encrypted Connections Scanning"
I unchecked the box that says "Scan Encrypted Connections"

If you want to have the box checked, Kaspersky will start nagging you to death every time it finds a connection it doesn't like, but anyway, in the following radio buttons, select "Always Scan Encrypted Connections" and click on "Advanced Settings".

Now, in the following page, under the title "SSL 2.0 Protocol".
If you have an old version of Newsleecher like me (Version 4), it seems that it uses that version, and guess what, the idiotic Kaspersky is blocking it, so you have no choice but to unckeck the following box "Block connections over SSL 2.0 protocol (recommended)". So much for those recommendations, and there are other settings you might want to take a look.

Once I unchecked both boxes (just to be sure) Newsleecher worked fine until the current issue started to appear.

dodgerboy1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 7:51 am

Re: Newsleecher not working

Post by dodgerboy1 » Wed Aug 05, 2015 7:43 am

Happy to report that I tried it today and everything is back working. Don't know what happened but its working now. Yay!!!! :D :wink: =D> By the way I didn' change any settings since I saw I wasn't the only one have this trouble. Hope it is working for all of you too!

User avatar
lzvk25
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 10:08 am

Re: Newsleecher not working

Post by lzvk25 » Thu Aug 06, 2015 4:37 pm

When I was in the University, for the athletes, we had a saying : "If you don't insult them, they will think that you don't love them". :roll:

Well, more or less this applies to this forum, if you don't get angry here, nothing gets done. Now, for the last 3 days everything is working fine. What changed ? Who knows ? Coincidence ? Divine Miracle ? [-o<

MarcelD
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:20 am

Re: Newsleecher not working

Post by MarcelD » Sat Aug 08, 2015 8:19 pm

I contacted them directly, and it seems they had a problem, at least with SSL on the US news server, although they didn't exactly say they did.

But after pointing it out to them, and asking me a couple of questions, they just said "Try it now".

And it's working again at full speed.

I'm IT for my company, and when I get a complaint about something, I'll investigate. If it's broken, I'll fix it, then just respond back with, "Try it now". ;-)

Sometimes it doesn't pay to go into elaborate explanations.

MarcelD

BlizzardUK
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 10:15 pm

Re: Newsleecher not working

Post by BlizzardUK » Mon Aug 10, 2015 4:54 am

I seem to be having speed and connection issues with some servers.

Astraweb EU SSL works for 1 minute then just cuts out.
Astraweb US SSL works but is 2MB slower that it should be.
Astraweb standard (non-SSL) works but is 3 to 4MB slower than it should be.
Premiumize.Me works but is 4MB slower than it should be (both SSL and non-SSL).
Tweaknews works but is 2MB slower than it should be.

This has been happening for about a month now, Astraweb used to give full speed.

However if I switch to Easynews SSL the speed is perfect, full on and consistently good, maxes out my connection. All have the same amount of bots.

eekthecat
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 11:47 pm

Re: Newsleecher not working

Post by eekthecat » Fri Aug 14, 2015 3:16 am

I'm having this problem too, on 7b7. Using NewsDemon, tried SSL and not, US and EU, all with the same disconnect issue.

jennjess
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: Newsleecher not working

Post by jennjess » Fri Aug 14, 2015 8:54 pm

Having the same problem with connect/immediate disconnect on newsdemon and other servers since last night, using 0.5 final.

Cornelius
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 8:12 pm

Re: Newsleecher not working

Post by Cornelius » Sat Mar 12, 2016 7:32 am

MarcelD wrote:I contacted them directly, and it seems they had a problem, at least with SSL on the US news server, although they didn't exactly say they did. But after pointing it out to them, and asking me a couple of questions, they just said "Try it now". And it's working again at full speed.

I'm IT for my company, and when I get a complaint about something, I'll investigate. If it's broken, I'll fix it, then just respond back with, "Try it now". Sometimes it doesn't pay to go into elaborate explanations.
FYI, if others are having Winsock 10053 errors connecting to a server w/ SSL, without any software configuration on your end, and non-SSL connections still work, it's because your Usenet provider upgraded their SSL certs, and your particular version of NewsLeecher was built with an old (and now unsupported) SSL library for connections. This unexpectedly hit me ](*,) when connecting (via SSL) to SuperNews on Tuesday, March 8th, but non-SSL connections still worked. I further narrowed the problem by successfully connecting with newer apps (GrabIt), and I could also still connect NewsLeecher to my backup Usenet provider (TweakNews). Therefore, I've learned a valuable lesson that sometimes you have to stop using old software (like NL v5b12, released on 12/23/2011) [-X ... bite the bullet #-o ... and just get current if you need to connect via SSL. \:D/

-- Cornelius

Post Reply