Page 1 of 4

Mcafee Says 3.95 Beta 1 is a Virus

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:10 pm
by Tracker Tim
Downloaded 3.95 beta 1 and mcafee says its a

Virus Profile: New Poly Win32

Reinstalled the final version and it workls fine.

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:17 pm
by Freaky123
Same for me. Tried installing over an existing installation of 3.91 Beta 2 and a fresh install same result both times.

P.S. I had to uninstall 3.91 Beta 2 is there anywhere i can download this again?

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:29 pm
by Spiril
Older releases of NewsLeecher can be downloaded from here:
http://www.newsleecher.com/old

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:36 pm
by Freaky123
Spiril wrote:Older releases of NewsLeecher can be downloaded from here:
http://www.newsleecher.com/old
Thanks Spiril

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:47 pm
by mbezik
same here wont let me install because of this problem

Re: Mcafee Says 3.95 Beta 1 is a Virus

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:12 pm
by sam_leech
[quote="Tracker Tim"]Downloaded 3.95 beta 1 and mcafee says its a

Virus Profile: New Poly Win32

Reinstalled the final version and it workls fine.[/quote]

Hoping of course (for all concerned) that this is a false positive by mcafee ... I've checked a few times with my virus checker (running Windows Vista 64 bit) and nothing found.

Funny that Free AVG (the virus package I use) normally gets lots of stick for throwing up false positives, but not this time it would seem? :D

This latest version loaded up and (seems to so far) run fine under Vista 64 bit ... I know it's shallow, but I really like the (new?) colour themes in this latest release.

As always, a big thankyou to the Newsleecher team for a great bit of kit... Newsleecher rocks :D :D

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 5:04 pm
by Pirate515
Same here, I have McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.5 Patch 6 and it keeps deleting the main executable (newsleecher.exe) as it finds New Poly 32 and is unable to clean it. Reinstalled 3.91 B2 and all is well for now.

Hope NL developers can look into this for the next beta/release. Or is McAfee getting too paranoid?

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 5:15 pm
by kublai
I got the same error message from Mcafee saying it's a virus and failed to install.

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 5:38 pm
by DariusIII
AVG Internet Security has no problem with NL.It must be McAfee.

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 5:56 pm
by wissertje
Yep i had the same message from McAfee. Now i installed Nod32 and everything is fine.

Where is the statement from Newslecher team

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:33 pm
by opelomega
I have the same error with Macafee. After all these posts about the same thing, where is the statement from the Newsleecher spokes people? And why are they STILL allowing it to be downloaded ?

Re: Where is the statement from Newslecher team

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:46 pm
by wissertje
opelomega wrote:I have the same error with Macafee. After all these posts about the same thing, where is the statement from the Newsleecher spokes people? And why are they STILL allowing it to be downloaded ?
It is not a virus, so there is nothing wrong whit it.

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:56 pm
by Spiril
Yes, it seems to be a false positive from McAfee.

We've put NewsLeecher v3.95 Beta 1 through several virus scans, including the ones provided at http://virusscan.jotti.org/ which uses multiple major scan engines. None of them found anything.

McAfee has been notified about the issue. I'll post an update if there's anything new about it.

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:47 pm
by pelloplasma
With KIS 8 is fine. No problems.

Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:13 am
by shmu22
I have no idea what a "boot sector virus" is, but the command prompt from McCaffee asked if I wanted to "Format C?". This appears to be fixing the problem, but it is taking a very long time, with all the asking for disks that I can't find, etc.

Just kidding, but McCaffee won't even allow the install even when I say it's ok, which sucks.