Page 8 of 13

Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:41 pm
by bbarker
I was wondering if there is a target schedule for releasing betas? They were being released fairly often and now it's been over 5 weeks since the latest one which I'm using and like. I'd just like to see it completed.

Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 12:39 am
by mrhua
stalks wrote:I'm having this issue with beta 6 and 7.

Image
Pause if space below 1GB.

Image
It then pauses with a 2GB queue and 90GB available, lol. :D

Argh, how do I switch it off? Even if I set the pause limit to 0 or 1MB it still pauses!
I'm having a similar problem to stalks -- basically it seems like this release is ignoring the setting and not stopping at all. I have NL v4b7 installed on a fresh install of XP. NL is installed on C: with 40+ gb free, and the download directory is a network drive (smb shared) ... and it fills the disk up all the way, does not honor the "pause limit".

Thanks again, hope this feedback helps some !

Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 11:48 am
by henv
hotzenwalder wrote:Up until beta 3 the Koala FTD Search tool ( http://www.koalabear.nl/software.php ) was kind of working, but with the later releases it is not functioning anymore.

The tool pastes a searchterm from another application (FTD) to the Supersearch Service and hits the search button in Newsleecher. It worked like a charm, but the developer now has run into problems. He looks for a active Newsleecher session by looking for a version number and a search field. This method has become so unstable with the latest beta releases that he is about to throw in the towel concering Newsleecher 4.x support.

This would be a shame because lots of users use his program in conjuntion with Newsleecher and without it Newsleecher would become a whole lot less attractive to use.

I guess it's kind of hard for me to explain what goes wrong. Maybe it's best to get into contact with the developer ( info@koalabear.nl ). It would be much appreciated. 8)
Extra info:The builder from the koalaftd asked if it still could possible for newsleecher version 4 to use the supersearch function with a windows api call

Hi spiril, I never seen a answer if this is possible again. If not, supersearch isnt usefull for me.

temp folder location in options...

Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 3:12 pm
by allynm
I've noticed the ability to set a custom temp folder is now missing from the options. This needs to be restored ASAP. NewsLeecher performs thousands of random small writes to the OS drive as it downloads the various parts of each article. If the primary drive is an SSD (Solid State Drive), this type of activity wears the flash blocks at a *significant* rate, reducing drive life and causing excessive fragmentation which eventually leads to stuttering as the drive struggles to overcome the effects of the previous random writes.

An example of what fragmentation does to an SSD:
http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=73 ... ert&pid=13

*note* this is not 'normal' fragmentation, it is related to the effect of the SSD trying to efficiently perform a series of small writes, which NewsLeecher is currently doing *alot* of.

Request the temp folder setting option be restored before peoples SSDs start dying early deaths.

Allyn Malventano
Storage Editor, PC Perspective

speed graph can't untick options

Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 6:48 pm
by beanos66
hya

the three ticked options in the speed graphs right click menu can't be turned off.

Re: temp folder location in options...

Posted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 12:56 am
by Smudge
allynm wrote:I've noticed the ability to set a custom temp folder is now missing from the options.
This is set in a .ini file outside of the application settings. You can read the details in the HowTo: Use an alternate location for the settings and temp directories FAQ thread.

Re: temp folder location in options...

Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:15 am
by allynm
Smudge wrote:
allynm wrote:I've noticed the ability to set a custom temp folder is now missing from the options.
This is set in a .ini file outside of the application settings. You can read the details in the HowTo: Use an alternate location for the settings and temp directories FAQ thread.
Thanks for pointing that out, but it needs to be easier to find for the other 99% of people who won't know to check the forum / find that thread.

Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:41 am
by elite
i am having an annoying thing where if whne having a few connections downloading, I decide to pause one of the connection. IT hangs the whole program.

What do I do?

Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 7:44 am
by grimlock72
I am missing the ability to to 'add poster to filter' on the article screen. How are supposed to do that now? (and no I don't *want* to type those silly names spammers come up with by hand)

Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:53 am
by doppler
grimlock72 wrote:I am missing the ability to to 'add poster to filter' on the article screen. How are supposed to do that now? (and no I don't *want* to type those silly names spammers come up with by hand)
All those silly names are created for a reason. To piss us off. Reserve the filter for the stupid spamming ISP's. There are less astute. Just ignore the thousands of spam lines. Filling up the filter will only do two things. Slow down NL even more and hide real posts with the same name.

Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:47 am
by grimlock72
doppler wrote:All those silly names are created for a reason. To piss us off. Reserve the filter for the stupid spamming ISP's. There are less astute. Just ignore the thousands of spam lines.
Need NL to filter on *header* text in order to properly filter ISP's, it doesn't do that as far as I know :(

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 2:24 am
by doppler
grimlock72 wrote:
doppler wrote:All those silly names are created for a reason. To piss us off. Reserve the filter for the stupid spamming ISP's. There are less astute. Just ignore the thousands of spam lines.
Need NL to filter on *header* text in order to properly filter ISP's, it doesn't do that as far as I know :(
I am talking about the common names ISPs come up with to get you to go.

Look for the idiots with poster names as "www.iamanass.com"

Subfolder issue?

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 5:39 am
by choli0090
Hello Everyone,

With the previous beta's I have been able to have the download go something like this

\download folder\newsgroup group\!RnE 20090824 download item

Now its..

\download folder\newsgroup group\Download item\!RnE 20090824 Download item.

How do I get it back to the first way ?
I see under the repair & extract options that there is one about adding date & time & the subfolder. If I uncheck the subfolder, then the date & time "grays out" so I can't check or uncheck it.

Thanks

Re: In the master group list you can no longer sort by populatiry

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:00 am
by 123repeater
Felix T Cat wrote:Using Beta 7, in the master group list where you subscribe to groups you used to be able to sort by popularity but no clicking on the popularity no longer does anything.
I'm also really frustrated by this. And not to bring up larger quality issue flames, but this is exacerbated by the other problems: I've ended up having to delete queue/group/config settings a couple times when NL started to wonk out, which means I've been re-building my group list repeatedly...

v4b7 repair and extract and iso == corrupt

Posted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 3:16 am
by pzam
I have been noticing lots of times that repair and extract will seem to extract files and and not move them to the extract directory. or It may but they have corruptions.

If I use the par2 I can sometimes fix them I have not seen a pattern to what causes it yet.